Noel [Oriental Dancer]

1. Why did you start oriental dancing?

I have loved dancing since I was a little kid. When I was 9 years old, I started to learn classic ballet.  I dreamed that I would dance on a big stage someday and I started to learn jazz dancing.  I have had some opportunities to see oriental dancing.  Oriental dancing has always deeply fascinated me.  But alas, I could not find an oriental dance school until 1999.  When I finally found an oriental dance school, one lady who works for the flamenco shop – strongly urged me to take lessons at the oriental dance school.

2. What is the most important thing to do when dancing in public?

You should select the number and costume that matches the event to fully entertain the customers.  Elegance is essential to dancing in public.  The most important element is the selection of Oriental music.  If you select different types of music, your dancing will be quite different from oriental dancing.  Moreover, the environment you dance in must be kept clear so that customers can see your dancing and your costume.  Lighting, acoustics, and atmospheres are also important elements when you select the location to dance in an Oriental dancing style.

3. Could you tell me about your oriental dancing style?

I dance Oriental dancing.  I learned oriental dancing from several teachers.  I am strongly influenced by the dancer Kamellia.  Her oriental dancing style is elegant, refined and makes me feel like a dramatic story.  She inspires me every time I see her.  I treasure my dancing experiences coupled with the fact that I am Japanese.  The freedom of oriental dancing is also one of its attractions.

4. Could you tell me about the relationship between oriental dancing and your personal background?

Performing and watching Oriental dancing is like dancing with an exotic boyfriend I really wanted to see.  I want to know more about oriental dancing because I feel I just met it.

5. Could you give some advice to current and future oriental dancers?

First, a person must listen to Oriental music!  You should choose your costume that matches your selected oriental music and finally create the choreography.  Moreover, it is essential to understand the folklore and background of the oriental dancing culture. Recently, oriental dancing has been combined with sexy dance, diet, and exercises.  However, Oriental dancing is more a traditional and cultural art form.  I want to enjoy oriental dancing knowing these honors and share it with many other oriental dancers.

6. Who is your idea oriental dancer?  Why do you like the oriental dancer?

Oriental dancers understand oriental music and perform to the tune of oriental music.  Moreover, we understand and respect Middle Eastern culture, showing oriental dancing as one art form and allow us to feel freedom.

7. What are your future plans with Oriental dancing?

I want to continue learning.  I also want to pursuit oriental dancing with students. Finally, I want to promote “oriental dancing” more.  Belly dancing is the recognized name of oriental dancing in Japan.  This change will promote recognition that is more accurate brand awareness of Oriental Dancing.

About Yuki Okamoto

Freelance Internet Marketer/ Bellydance Japan Magazine Writer/ Raqs Sharqi -The Joy of Dance- SNS Managerとして活躍中。 2010年には、ベリーダンスイベント運営/ Marketing戦略立案施行を行うRaqs ART Internaitonalを立ち上げ、Suhaila Salimpour, Huleya HiromiのSNSの運営管理、インターネットにおける市場戦略立案施行を行う。 I hope that Raqs Sharqi -The Joy of Dance- promote every Oriental/Middle Eastern/Belly/Raqs Sharqi dancers and everyone who loves dancing sisterhood!
This entry was posted in Japanese dancer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.